warning icon

This website uses the latest web technologies so it requires an up-to-date, fast browser!
Please try Firefox or Chrome!

Sevilla Spain, is capital of Andalucia

SevilleSeville (Sevilla In Spanish) province is located in the west of Andalucia It is bordered by the provinces of Cadiz, Cordoba, Huelva, Malaga, Huelva and Bajadoz.. It covers an area of 14,042 sqkm and had a population of over 1760,000 , 40 % of this population living in the Capitol City Seville. The province contains 105 municipalities national parks and some stunning monuments and buildings

Unfortunately many visitors to this province venture beyond Seville with is beautiful historical buildings, monuments, parks and its good transport links to the rest of Andalucia, However the are many exciting places to visit away from, the bright lights of Seville

The landscape of the province is dominated by the impressive River Guadalquivir which is one of Spain´s most important river, the capitol city Seville sits tight in the heart of the river valley and many of important towns and villages of the province are located around the Guadalquivir river plain.

To the south of the province you will find a whole host of intresting towns with impressive architecture as well as some stunning natural areas including the Doñana National Park which the prvince shares with its neighbour Huelva province.

Alcalá de Guadaíra (Alcalá from the Arabical-kala, “castle”) is a town located on the banks of the River Guadaira ,approximately 10 km southeast of Seville; which in recent years due to the expansion of Seville ,Alcalá has become a suburb of the city. The town used to be known as Alcalá de los Panaderos (Alcalá of the bakers) because it provided most of Seville’s bread. The main attraction of this town is its castle with its fortifications and is where you will find the Hermitage of our lady of the Eagle (Nuestra Señora del Águila) which used to house many valuable artifacts until they were moved to the Church Of Santiago when this became the parish church. You can still see the image of “La Virgin del Águila here though sadly this is a replica, the original was destroyed in 1936. Nearby you can see the watermills built by the moors and the Marchenilla Castle which was built in the 14 century.

Casa de la Cultura - LebrijaOther towns in the area include Lebrija a pretty walled town with a population of around 25,000, located near the left bank of the Guadalquivir river, and on the eastern edge of the marshes known as Las Marismas an area of marshy lowlands that behaves like a natural buffer to the Doñana National Park

The campanile tower was inspired on the Giralda, of the Cathedral of Sevilla, and it is commonly known as “La Giraldilla” (little Giralda). Santa María de la Oliva was originally a mosque that was reclaimed as a Christian temple in 1249, following the Reconquista. Part of the church retains its original mosque elements and resembles a smaller version of the Mezquita in Córdoba. ´The Giraldilla In Lebrija

Also in the town you will find the Casa de la Cultura (House of Culture) was built in the 18th Century in Andalusian Baroque style. Originally it was used as a wheat silo for the Archbishop of Seville and housing for the local Catholic chapter. The Diezmos ( a one-tenth part of something, paid as a (usually) voluntary contribution or as a tax or levy) and tributes paid by the town people to the church were kept here. In 1982, the Socialist Party in charge of Lebrija City Council at the time bought the property and its restoration began. It was reopened in 1986 as the House of Culture, a place dedicated to learning, exhibits and all sorts of cultural expressions, including dance and music.

Marchena, located sixty kms south of Seville and Ultera, a large agricultural town with a few fine churches and mansions. It is considered to be one of the principal grain-producing regions in Spain and is also in the heart of a cattle-rearing region, where toros (fighting bulls) are raised.

Nearby to Ultera you will find the Utrera Natural Reserve which contains three saltwater lakes. Laguna de Zarracatín is around ten times the size of the other two, Laguna Arjona and Laguna Alcaparrosa

Other Natural areas in this part of the province include the Brazo del Este Natural Area which is located 20 km south of Seville in the Guadalquivir river estuary and Las Cabezas Natural Reserve which is made up of a total of six lakes.

The North of the province is dominated by the Sierra Norte Natural Park, a landscape of gently rolling hills clad in dense evergreen oaks which Few foreign tourists have discovered , although it’s popular with Sevillanos who travel the 90km north from the city at weekends and holidays.

Heading east of the city is a vast, undulating countryside of cereal fields and olive trees interspersed with a series of towns – Carmona, Écija, Estepa and Osuna – boasting some of the province’s finest architecture outside of Seville, including distinguished Baroque townhouses and handsome Mudéjar churches

There are many wonderful attractions in this province, far to many to list here You can find alot of information on this website which provides information on the whole provience including accomodation, eating out and places to see

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!